Welcome to The Amateur Admirer

When was 17 years old I auditioned for the incredible voice performance program at Eastman School of Music. I was in a room with 49 other hopeful young singers all waiting for our ‘Welcome Meeting’ before auditions began. I was one of 3 international students present and so, so, SO much out of my league. I was a small town girl… the proverbial big fish in the small pond, but I still knew my place. As much as I wanted to be a star and prove to those Eastman teachers that I was the best singer they had heard since Renee Fleming, I knew that wasn’t going to happen. This audition was not going to define my future. It was not going to iron out which path to take. This audition was for FUN! It had been my dream for years to go to this school but I knew it was not my destiny to do so. But that’s ok, you see, because I was about to sing on the stage in Kilbourn Hall! My mother is a Rochester, NY native and she had told me all about how beautiful Kilbourn Hall was and how honoured I should feel if I ever got to sing there. So when I got my audition date and location I just about broke down on the floor in a heap of glorious tears realizing that I, Ms. Mallory McGrath, would be singing where my idol, the stunning Renee Fleming, had once sang. I was about to fulfill a dream that many other people would never have the chance to do.

To date, over 12 years later, that audition was hands down the best audition I have ever given.

kilbourndefault

But why? Why was able to sing with more heart and carefree lines than I ever had before?

Because it was for fun!!!

And that’s my sneaky way of getting around to the point of this blog. Performing should be fun! When you’re on stage you should feel supported, encouraged and loved by your fellow cast-mates, friends and family. You should feel unstoppable and you should be singing, dancing, laughing, crying with so much gusto!

What I want to talk about is COMMUNITY THEATRE! So let’s get a couple of things out of the way:

  1. Community Theatre does not mean bad
  2. Community Theatre does not mean untrained
  3. Community Theatre does not mean sneaking out at intermission because you might claw your eyes out

Community Theatre means that the actors, directors, music directors, producers, stage manager and designers are not being paid. They are there as a hobby, outlet or extra-curricular activity. They work their 9-5 job and then shove a quick dinner down their throats before braving the GTA traffic and getting to their 7pm rehearsal on time 3 nights a week. I want to support and encourage those people: the ones who are a part of the great world of theatre strictly for FUN!

This blog is a review, not a critique. We live in a very negative world and we do not need more negativity and animosity then there already is in our lives. When I see a show, I will write about what affected me, moved me, made me laugh, made me cry big hippopotamus tears and what I honestly and truly loved to watch. If there was something that wasn’t my favourite or I wasn’t a #1 fan of, I’m not going to write about it. Only good-happy-squishy-rainbows & unicorns-type posts will be seen on this blog. That doesn’t mean I will talk about every aspect of the show though… just thing aspects that really affected me.

I am very excited to launch my blog and to review my first show. If you would like me to come and see your show, please visit my contact page and let me know when it is or give my contact info to your producer. Looking forward to seeing some incredible community theatre!!

keep-calm-and-love-theatre-37

Leave a Reply

